RSS

Pastors are People Too

28 Apr

My husband works for a large corporation and we had to attend a banquet for the regular laborers and their families. We had to attend to basically serve the labors, to show our appreciation for all their hard work, and often times sacrifices they and their families make to see that the job gets done. Many times at these types of functions, Management sits at tables by themselves and the laborers and their families gather together among themselves. Let me interject right here, I really don’t care to sit with management people at times because somehow they have the attitude that the are better than the ordinary workforce, or just don’t want to mingle with the regular workforce, I really don’t know why they do this. So this led me to tell my husband, I want to sit with the guys, so we can have a little more fun this evening. He agreed, and we asked if we could sit with this group of his employees and their families, and they agreed. We laughed, listened to their stories and had a wonderful evening. Then a week later, we gave all the guys their Christmas gifts, which happened to be our fresh roasted fair trade organic coffee from our new business that we had just started up, and with the coffee, gave them our flyers that told everything about our business and our business model which is to assist people who are coming out of substance abuse and or a domestic violence situation, and of course, it had my name and title as Pastor on this information since I am the owner and Pastor of the Base Ministry. Much to our surprise, my husband began receiving phone call after phone call regarding the fact that he hadn’t told them that I was a pastor. He asked well what does that matter if she is a Pastor he asked them, and their response was, “well, uh, the other night, we were carrying on quite a bit at the table, and may have said some things that we shouldn’t have.” My husband immediately responded, “So you would have acted differently if you had known that she was a Pastor?” Their response was, yes, had we have known that she was a Pastor; we would have changed our behavior. And so, this is how it has led me to write this article.

I am here to set the record straight TODAY, Pastors are people too, and we all still put our pants on one leg at a time. We hold No superpowers, and are really no different than any of you reading this article. What we are however, are People just like you, that just happen to work for our Lord and savior Jesus, and are trying to convey the fact that we are all in need of a Savior, and we are simply the instruments that are brought in front of you to show you just how loving, sincere, AND FAITHFUL our Father God is. We aren’t perfect people, just people. We like to live, laugh and love just like you, and we enjoy many different things just like you. Now, as a pastor, I wanted to look at this from a biblical perspective, and give you some scriptural basis for my thoughts and ideas that I am presenting here to you today.

Let me begin with taking you to Hebrews chapter 2:14-18

Inasmuch then as the children have partaken of flesh and blood, He Himself likewise shared in the same, that through death He might destroy him who had the power of death, that is, the devil, and release those who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage. For indeed He does not give aid to angels, but He does give aid to the seed of Abraham. Therefore, in all things He had to be made like His brethren, that He might be a merciful and faithful High Priest in things pertaining to God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. For in that He Himself has suffered, being tempted, He is able to aid those who are tempted.

Now, this passage is speaking of Jesus, and let me say, right here I am NOT comparing myself or another Pastors to Jesus, I am simply giving you an example of Pastor are People Too. As we see in this scripture, God sent Jesus to live like you and I so that He could destroy the works of the enemy, the devil, and so that He could be a merciful and faithful High Priest. You see, if Jesus had never experienced what it was like to be like us, He couldn’t fully appreciate what you and I go though in this life. Just like the old saying, don’t judge someone until you have walked in his shoes. Which bring me to us Pastors as being people too.

Many times I have people approach me and tell me their troubles and their woes, and they finish it by saying, you’re a Pastor you just don’t get the problems that we regular people have. Let me clear something up here, Pastors are People too. We don’t have an escape card, or some magic shield around us that protects us from the world and its issues. When we bleed, we bleed RED blood just like you. We have feelings, and they can be stepped on and hurt. We have children, and the normal “kid issues” that each of you face day in and day out. WE FEEL YOUR PAIN and we are ordained by God, to help you through them, by guiding you to the best of our ability through them with God’s help, assistance, and HIS WORD! We aren’t perfect, and we will make mistakes, even in sometimes the way that we handle our own situations that arise. So please forgive us, we are only human just like you. We like to live, laugh, and love just like you, and we face everyday challenges just like you.

So next time you are talking with your Pastor, or any Pastor, please remember that they are People Too, and they struggle with some of the same issues that you struggle with, they just may not show it or tell anyone. Which brings me to my next topic for my next blog, to the Pastors; Pastors Need to Share their experiences and their challenges with their congregations for them to appear like real people with real issues.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
